zimshan: (SPN - The Journey)
[personal profile] zimshan
I still can’t believe I went through 25 hours of TV in one week. I honestly have never done this before. The quickest I’ve ever watched anything was Firefly, which I finished in one 4-day weekend, but that was only 14 episodes. So when I say this show bowled me over? I mean, this show BOWLED me over.

You have no idea how much time The Sis and I spent mocking this thing all year. And now I feel like I totally owe an apology to everyone I’ve ever made fun of for watching this show. ‘Cause it’s fuckin’ fabulous.

Honestly, before this fall, the only thing I had ever heard anyone say about Supernatural was that it was The Pretty Boys Show, leading me to believe that was ALL the show had to offer. I’ve never been to partial to the typical ‘cardboard-cut-out’ pretty boys in my television which is why I never checked it out before. But after finally going through it for myself, I have to say, it’s a crying shame that the series has been marked as such. Because the show is actually great in its own right. THERE IS SO MUCH HERE FOR ME TO LOVE. So much so, I *must* make a list...


HELLO TRAGIC, PAINFUL HISTORY
So I had watched the pilot way back last year when it first aired, right? But I must have been blind not to realize this show had my name written ALL OVER IT. Because what the hell has my mantra been for so many years? Dead people make the BEST recipe for a new show. And here, not only did this show revolve around two boys whose mother DIED, but that action had caused their whole lives to change LIKE THAT! And then you have their Dad that has been searching for their mother’s killer for 22 years and now he is MISSING and then the end Sam’s girlfriend is killed by the SAME DAMN THING and HOW ON EARTH DID I NOT SEE THE FABULOUS RECIPE FOR AWESOMENESS IN THE MAKING?! Oh, yea, that’s right. I was still way too bitter about this looking like The WB’s shoddy replacement for Angel. Stupid petty resentment got in the way.

I do have to say, the pilot is not the greatest of eps, but what is important is that IT ONLY GETS BETTER FROM THERE. The whole scene in the second episode where Dean talks to Sam about their dad's book and doing their job? That whole scene blew me away. And not just because HOLY CRAP, PADALECKI CAN ACT?! Who knew! But because it solidified what they’d be doing with this series. That it wouldn’t be merely MotW but MotW with character insight and meaningful brother interaction and familial obligation and refusing to forget the past! OMG!TRAGIC HISTORY!

And so I quickly ran through eps 103 - 108 and somewhere along the line, I started to really love the series. Each ep had its funny moments and its character depth moments and the MotW parts that drove me to the edge of my seat such numerous times that by ep 6 I was calling this the MOST NERVEWRACKING SHOW EVER. (Seriously, this show plays creepy TOO DAMN WELL.) The first couple eps were ridiculously well-balanced to give you just what you needed in order to really get to know the brothers. Basically, preparing you to be prime and plump for when they decided to RIP YOUR HEART OUT. I can only liken it to what Joss did to me with Firefly in the episodes before ‘Out of Gas’.

But damn if I didn’t realize that the ‘Out of Gas’ effect was taking place all that time. Because then I watched ‘Home’. Which was the first episode of many to just break me into little tiny pieces. Not to mention knock my ass to the floor because HOLY SHIT, THERE IS AN OVERREACHING ARC IN THIS SHOW?!?! And not just any arc but a FABULOUS, ROOTED IN THE PAIN OF THE PAST ARC. Can you picture me watching this simultaneously screaming SCORE!! and turning in to a blubbering idiot at the TEN LEVELS OF TRAGIC PAIN AND HORRIBLE ANGST? Because that’s exactly what happened.

So I was basically completely OWNED by this show with ‘Home’, but then that ep basically set into principle how exactly the rest of the ARC eps would absolutely kill me, each with more exponential killing power.

THE BROTHERS
For the last week, I’ve honestly been trying to think of a truer onscreen brother portrayal (or even simply sibling portrayal) I've seen on television and I honestly can’t come up with one. The beats that they hit with these guys are just so impressive. They tease and bicker and nag and prank and fight and yell but when the chips are down, they’re right there for one another. And somehow this show is able to strike this lovely balance so that it’s not too sentimental and fluffy but not too dark or disconnected, just...right.

And I admit, I was really skeptical about a show sporting only two main characters. But man, did they throw that skeptism out the window in no time!

Not to compare shows or anything but...okay, just to compare shows. The characters of Sam and Dean are pretty much exactly what I had always thought Veronica and Logan had the potential to become. And no, that’s not me saying I support the Wincest, because I totally don’t. I’m not talking about any romantic implications. I’m just talking about their character construction, and how their relationship is brought about and sustained through that construction. They have these polarizing thoughts that propel scenes and storylines and force each other through character progression. And yet they complement each other in such a way that despite their broken states, are able to find strength in each other. It’s a fabulous feat to be able to propel a series on two characters so strongly, and this show does it remarkably. EVERY SINGLE WEEK. Yes, I am still in awe of this show’s consistance for excellence.

There’s also this lovely advantage that a show has if it can pull off two characters like this. Because with only two characters, it is almost literally a whole 45 minutes an episode of those two on-screen. Add in how these two are thrown into near-death situations every single episode and it really gives you a chance to get seriously attached to these two within only a few short eps. Quickly, you understand their character motivations, fears, and regrets and it just ends up really bringing the viewer close to the characters. No one should ever underestimate that connectivity factor.

And sure, some might say it ends up leaving the show too simple with only two characters but I don’t know. I think I’d rather see something done well from one point to the other instead of being sloppily handled. And hey, look, you don’t have problems with character shirking or having too little of time to address things because you have only two characters. Everything is taken step by step. Issues that SHOULD be dealt with? ARE dealt with. It’s so refreshing. Things are presented and then moved on in a progression that it should be allowed to. From one ep to another. Character issues end up being carried over with grace, not forgotten only to be clunked down later.

And granted, this show doesn’t exactly have the most accomplished of writing. Most of the scenes are made awesome by the production of them, not necessarily the writing underneath them. And they do a lot of ‘tell’ instead of ‘show’ which I know I should consider OMG!BAD. But as [livejournal.com profile] jascott said, I DON’T CARE. It’s so refreshing to see characters talking about what they should be talking about. I’m so sick of waiting for conversations that never happen and then having to fanwank them in order for progression to make any sense. Here, there’s no showrunner mind games. If characters should talk, they do. End of story.

What amazes me is that they’ve struck such a balance with these two characters for me. They are so different and yet, here’s the crazy thing. I LOVE THEM BOTH. EQUALLY. Okay, so granted, as of now, Dean’s character has been given more depth than Sam’s has and is therefore a little bit more interesting to me. Plus, I kind of connect to his character more because, hey, fellow older sibling here! But in the end, the point is I LOVE BOTH THE BROTHERS. This isn’t a ‘God, Dawson’s so annoying, go drown him in the creek and give the show to Pacey already.’ Nor is it a ‘Give Logan more screentime and drive Duncan away because he’s boring me to death.’ This is EQUAL CHARACTER LOVE.

And I see it looks like there’s some uneven love in fandom, but for me, they’ve really accomplished this in just how they let each of them have their flaws. They both have their good points and their bad and we see them both. One isn’t painted as a golden boy while the other is painted as the screw up. Dean is rebellious to society but golden to his family, hotheaded but mostly still with a rational mind. Sam is rebellious toward his family but society’s own golden boy, being booksmart but of the less rational mind than you would expect. Dean appears as the extroverted brother but in actuality keeps his feelings close to himself while Sam appears as the introverted one but ends up always bursting at the seams to let out his thoughts or feelings. It’s these ambiguous contrasts that really propels the series for me. We see them both screw up, and we see them move on from there. I’ve talked a couple of times about my love for equal scenes of controversy. Verbal fight scenes in which you can understand where each character is coming from, where neither character is really right and neither character is really wrong. This show produces these scenes on almost a WEEKLY basis. Which absolutely floors me. And it’s all possible because of these conflicting complex lines of character construction.

One of my concerns when I first started watching was how exactly they’d make it even remotely feasible for these two fully human ‘not at all super’ guys to be hunting down these supernatural things all the time. But they ended up making it work for me, quite simply because they don’t know everything. Episodes upon episodes, they think they have the answer all figured out and then it turns out they didn’t. They slip up numerous times, and sometimes those slip ups really cost them and their near death experiences end up getting really near-death. I mean, Dean should be dead twice over by now. (OH, DEAN.) But the whole point is, they don’t play the series like they are invincible hunters. They make a point to show their fallible humanity at all times. And it ended up being so refreshing to me that these guys were fighting these things not with supernatural powers, but supernatural smarts, that when ‘Nightmares’ came up and Sam could suddenly move things with his mind? It made me alittle sad. I would of never expected to have that reaction before watching...

(Except, someone really needs to get the boys some STEALTH lessons, STAT. They’re sneaking skills for snooping are incredibly lacking.)

THE FATHER
Yea, John gets his own section in this post. Despite his near insanity toward the end, I loved his character’s run, if only just because of the effect he had on the brothers. I’ve seen just from quickly peeking my head in fandom that a lot of people rather hated him. But for me, he really had the Lilly effect for most of the season. I loved him simply because the boys loved him. You go episode upon episodes with the boys who are desperate to find their father, and you root them on. And so when he finally calls in ‘Scarecrow’ it’s just about the SADDEST THING EVER. Until of course, when he actually shows up at the end of ‘Shadows’. Which then becomes the new SADDEST THING EVER. And then he has to leave again. And then shows up again, is almost killed how many times, and DUDE, this guy is responsible for so many TRAGICALLY PAINFUL scenes, how can I not love him?

His presence really solidified how much despite what the show looked like, it was not about the scare so much as the family. And you can say all the weepy family moments were overdone but I’ll stand up for them because dude, this was their family here! They were all they've got. And here they are totally fallible humans with no super anything to speak of putting themselves on the line to kill this demon and I don’t know! Considering the context, I find the scenes they produce to be just the right amount of sentiment. It might still be the crack speaking but I’d say? BEST TV FAMILY PORTRAYAL EVER. Just because I can. ;)

Unfortunately, I did know that John was going to die at some point. I had read about it before even having the thought to watch the first season and I actually completely forgot about it until about halfway through. And I didn’t know how or when (I figured it was in the premiere since I had recently seen people talking about it) but nevertheless I did expect it so it lessened the punch for me alittle bit. (As a consequence, I found the premiere to be a little weak.) At any rate, I *want* to be incredibly mad with him for doing what he did so stupidly and leaving his boys like that, but I can’t. Because if he hadn’t done what he had done? Dean would be dead. And we can’t have that. So instead, I must thank him. As much as I loved his character, this was really the perfect moment for him to go. Besides, he was losing it anyway. After what he had gone through in the finale, getting so close to what he’d been trying to accomplish for so long and loosing that? He would have only gone insane and gotten himself killed, or even worse, his boys. This was definitely the most perfect way for him to go. (Except, you know THAT STUPID BLOODY SECRET DEVICE THEY INSULTLY CLUNKED DOWN IN FRONT OF US. But more on that some other time. We're on the love train now.)

THE ACTORS
But none of this would mean anything if the show didn’t have the acting to back it up. They could have ended up with such corn in the hands of less capable actors. And truthfully, with Padalecki on board, I was bracing myself for just that. But damn! All three of these guys have just really brought their A-game to this show. Their use of pauses and stutters and facial movements and inflections are just so damn effective in selling every scene so completely that I’m honestly in awe.

Jensen Ackles? I expected him to be good. I’ve never seen him in anything he couldn’t pull off with finesse. But I wasn’t ready for him to be so fuckin’ spectacular! The way he is able to just put himself in a scene so completely in portraying Dean’s internal angst? And what that guy can do with a couple of silent seconds when they give it to him? JUST KILLER. He just totally sends my world askew. Because HELLO pretty boys can’t be awesome actors! And yet, he totally is. These things are supposed to be completely mutually exclusive. HE TOTALLY DEFIES THE UNIVERSE. Hi, Jensen, welcome to my top five list of actors I will follow anywhere.

And Padalecki, I had remembered him being really horrible in the pilot and true, he was sort of overbearing in places. But too bad I hadn’t gone on to watch the second episode where he just knocks that ‘I’ve got to find Dad’ woods scene right out the park! Now admittedly, Ackles’ acting abilities reach further than Paladecki’s but he still manages to impress me with each episode. As it ends up, he plays the perfect emotional little brother to complement Jensen’s own hard-boiled Dean.

And Jeffrey Dean Morgan? Well, he just never failed to break my heart every time he was onscreen. He really was a master of the use of pauses and I really am sad to see him go.

Something I really noticed watching this show? How effective their use of close-ups and extreme close-ups are. If you have actors that can handle it, (and what Jensen can do with close-ups is damn near miraculous) it only serves to pull you even closer to the characters. After being so used to the sparse use of it in VM, I’m happy to see it again.

HI, OTHER SHOWS
When I watch a new show, I’m one of those people who relates it immediately to my old shows. It’s just what happens. It’s human nature. You relate what’s new to what you already know. Like when I first watched Veronica Mars, it reminded me as taking the best elements of Angel and Dawson’s Creek with a dash of Buffy and a good helping of Poirot. When I watched Firefly, I related it to mixing Little House on the Prairie, Star Trek, Veronica Mars and M*A*S*H in one big melting pot.

But Supernatural might just have a conglomeration of the best reminders of any of my old shows yet. This isn’t to say that the SPN isn’t its own show in its own right. It is. Nevertheless, it has certain elements that just nostalgically reminded me of my three most favorite shows of all time, Angel, Veronica Mars, and Firefly. This, of course, can’t be anything but a good thing.

Angel is the given. I expected it when I first started watching, since I remembered tuning into the Pilot last year and screaming ‘THIS IS A POOR MAN’S ANGEL!’ all night. At that time, I had resented it, but it seems as though I’ve accepted Angel’s death finally, because the aspects that is does have of the show, I can now look at fondly. From little things like the dark, high contrast aspect and similar cars, to the main idea of hunting a new monster every week and larger things like the inner turmoil of the characters and using its presence to utterly rip the hearts out of their viewers. Also, I’ve discovered that I really miss the supernatural angle on things. As much as I really disliked that part of Angel and Buffy when it was on, and how much I loved that VM didn’t have that angle, I’ve been without it for too long. And this show really makes me miss the almost limitless possibilities that a supernatural series can bring. It just brings you such a longer scope of ideas to explore. Also something that I miss from my lack of new Buffy and Angel? That feeling of first time watching, knowing they have to get out of the spot they’ve gotten themselves in, but not knowing how? It’s an adrenaline rush. Plus, it lends itself to that connectivity factor. When you fear for their lives so, you connect to them just like THAT! Something else I’ve really missed from VM’s set up that was done with Buffy and Angel? Getting that chance to truly meet the real character by (as that fictional psychotic dictator would say, *wink*) holding them over that ‘volcanic edge’ every week. VM can do this and has, but to a far lesser extent since it’s real world boundaries limit them so. And I honestly didn’t even realize I how much I had missed it until going through this series.

What else did I discover I had missed? THE RESEARCH BOOKS. You know how every episode of Angel and Buffy had them digging through these anciently old, musty books? I MISS THAT. I know, it was a strange thing to miss, but I do. Researching on the computer just isn’t the same as sitting down to stick your nose in a pile of books a mile high.

I was actually more surprised to see little bits of Firefly rememberance in this show. Considering how long gone that show is, anything that gives me even the briefest of FF reminders I have to accept with open arms. And maybe I just really miss Firefly, but SPN is highly reminescent of the show for me. Such as the basic simple concept that leaves the series wide open for MotW and season progression. The brothers running around in The Impala each week to little back-country towns of America to do a job is like that of Firefly’s weekly premise of flying around in Serenity to a different planet each week. You have your beginning ‘arrival’ shots and your end ‘leaving town’ shots, complete with snarky commentary about the town on their way out. And like Serenity, The Impala is treated like the third character of the show, and soon you find yourself loving the damn thing. (And then the showrunners take advantage of that fact and stab you right in the heart! But wait, I haven’t gotten to that yet.) Not only that, but you have this constant talk of jobs. Finding a job, taking a job. The importance of getting the job done. Dean reminds me of Mal over and over in so many different ways I’m not even sure where I would start, from his goofy joking tendencies and sporting this devil-without-a-cause confidence all the while hiding behind it his past which is slowly eating away at him and burying him in a darker and darker hole for every day that he bottles it up and keeps it to himself? Hard-boiled to a core, that boy. Not to mention they share their love for their vechicles of transportation!! I would however wager that a lot of the similarities in the characters are due to how Jensen Ackles’s acting style is similar to Fillion’s. Nevertheless, I love what I see.

As far as VM, I think I probably have the talent of relating anything to VM in one way or another. But I’ve talked in the past about the similarities between Mal and Veronica, and so of course, I see a lot of similarities between Veronica and Dean. The hard-boiled bitter cynicism? Which when you dig past, you find is just a shell to protect their squishy marshmellowy core? In fact, I had jokingly said while watching the pilot that Dean was S1 Veronica and Sam was S2 Veronica. I had no idea how true it would actually turn out to be, Sam with his plead for a normal life and knowing their family can never be like before while Dean rejects normal but desperately wants to preserve their family. But in the less crazy arena, the set up is sort of similar to S1 VM complete with noir-like elements. Their goal of finding their mother’s killer? The pained past that has changed their lives so, ripped ‘normal’ from them, and never lets them forget? Except that in this case, the past literally haunts them. But you’ve got your hard-boiled character in Dean, cynical dialogue in the script, and topped off with its high contrast-y and dark wet streets look. It’s like VM if it had a supernatural element and Rob cared about characterization more than the mystery arc.

Just from the little I’ve poked around reviews for the show, it is unfortunate that this show seems to be getting the brush-off by critics about as widely as Dawson’s Creek itself. *pets poor old show I still feel like defending after all these years* Why doesn’t this show get more critic love? I don’t understand it.

THE IMPALA – THIS SHOW HAS CAR LOVE?!?
How much do I love this car? WORDS CAN NOT EXPLAIN. I learned pretty quickly that it was really stupid of me to liken my love of The Impala to Serenity because here THEY MADE ME WATCH IT GET DESTROYED. The truck just keeps moving and slamming the car to pieces and I HAD TO WATCH THAT. IT KIIILLLLLED ME. And here, I knew Sam and Dean would end up being okay. BUT THE IMPALA?!? I couldn’t lose The Impala!!

When they showed it at the junk yard in the premiere, and Bobby was saying how it was a waste to try and save it, I was just like: NO. THE IMPALA WILL BE REBUILT AND THAT’S THE END OF THE STORY. OKAY?

And then…

THE CAR JUNK YARD! THE IMPALA! DEAN! HE’S WORKING TO FIX THE IMPALA! THANK THE LORDIE. THE IMPALA WILL DRIVE AGAIN. Man, that was the happiest thing they could have shown me. Until of course the next episode where it opened with 'Back in Black' and lo and behold coming over the hill was OMG. IT'S THE IMPALA BACK ON THE ROAD. And they not only gave its reintroduction a perfect song of its own, THEY GAVE IT FULL-ON SPOTLIGHT. THE CAR GOT A FULL-ON SPOTLIGHT!! See, at least there’s SOME showrunners that understand the emotional value and importance of transportation vehicles.

(And after some more poking around SPN fandom, it look like everyone calls the car by name of Metallicar? WHY? Sorry, I ran through the whole season calling it The Impala, so for me, that’s what’s sticking. Yes, proper noun and all.)

COLOR FILTER LOVE
Whatever filter they use on this show, I am completey and utterly in *love* with it. How it desaturates the picture but with this dark contrast-iness that in night scenes make it almost ‘black and white’ like? SIGH. I confess, I’m originally a black and white lover so it makes me very happy.

THE DP IS MY NEW HERO
Despite the desaturation, this show is still SO FUCKIN’ PRETTY. The shots and the camera work are planned so damn well, in a way that kind of puts previous shows in the sand. And my favorite, is the accented blues and greens of this show. I’m not sure whether it’s the filter that does it or just the lighting, I’m sure it’s a combination of both, but the whole damn show has this grey bluish green color that I just LOVE. And then combining those colors with their dark night scenes where they intersperse these colors with the fog and you have a recipe for me dying of the prettiness after every cap. Plus, THIS SHOW HAS PRETTY PRETTY LENS FLARES!

Also? I totally missed the use of focus changes. This show REALLY uses their focus changes and I *love* it. Deep focus is nice and all, but sometimes, the use of focus changes is just plain fun to watch.

AS IS THE EDITOR
Hi, editing transitions of utter FABULOUSNESS. Thank you for rocking my world. A fruit basket will be arriving for you shortly.

AND THE COMPOSERS
This score is just a work of absolute fabulousness in itself. It literally MAKES this show. So much of this show pulling off what it tries to pull off depends on its score. And I quite honestly haven’t heard a score so accomplished on television since Christophe Beck (Buffy) and Greg Edmonson (Firefly). Of course, it is a little unfair because the show actually has two composers that swap episodes every other week. Aren’t they lucky, not having that one week crunch that most tv composers do! But nevertheless, the score remains cohesive ep to ep with a constant eclectic nature that is incredibly impressive. From the creepy dissodant build-ups that set you on edge a la Bernard Herrmann himself, to the stinger scary tactics that are way too damn effective and cause me to jump to the sky, they’re still not afraid to hit these sweet, beautifully sympathetic string-based melodies that are just ESSENTIAL for the shows emotional content. And my ultimate favorite, are the use of acoustic guitars and other folk instruments to create this slight western-type sound for the backcountry towns that sounds like something pulled right out of Firefly and just…SIGH. I love it.

KRIPKE GIVES ME AWESOME TUNES
The classic rock adoration in this show just cracks me up. But I love it. And the sound surprisingly works for the series. It’s actually inspired me to pull out that classic rock playlist I haven’t listened to in forever. And now I remember why. Because they go through my head ALL DAY LONG. Still, in this day and age of badly matched up imagery to contemporary music that recording companies only care to get off the CD racks, any showrunner who wants to use AC/DC and Bad Company for a TV series soundtrack? Is absolutely fabulous by me.

AND AWESOME PREVIOUSLIES?! This is me in heaven.
Has any other show in the world ever rocked their previouslies more? I was in love with them back when they had the same generic one they used over and over again in the beginning of the series just because HELLO. Here’s a show that says, ‘Hey, we have a one minute spot to do whatever we want to catch people up with the show. Let’s make the most of it!’ But then the end of the season they did the previouslies to ‘Carry On My Wayward Son’ which ROCKED MY FUCKIN’ WORLD. And then they decided to do every new previously just like that one with a new classic rock song every week that totally relates on every single level to the matter at hand? They should win an award for this alone.

And because I can’t forget...The Silly But Still Important Miscellaneous Aspects to Love
I confess. I have this thing. I *love* a guy in a good jacket. And I am so ridiculously in love with the jackets the boys wear all the time. Dean’s leather jacket? And Sam’s khaki jacket? And all the other collared jean jackets they wear in between. Wardrobe totally deserves a fruitcake.

Also, the consistant use of the black-cord necklace on Dean? LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE. And hey, I heard they’re actually giving the necklace some significance. HI, SHOWRUNNER WHO CARES ENOUGH TO EXPLAIN NECKLACES A CHARACTER WEARS IN EVERY SINGLE EPISODE.

Also, I *love* the episode name title cards. Every show should do that. It should be the law.

And...I just...I love everything about this show. Seriously, I can’t think of a single thing I don’t like about it. The utter creepiness, yes, I could probably do without the freakin’ heartattacks every minute. But it’s done so well, I simply don’t have the heart to complain about it.

In all honestly, after all this time, VM has just sort of worn me out. I’d just gotten so tired of begging and pleading for the littlest of scraps. And then here comes Kripke who says, “Hey, I’ll give you everything you want. EVERY. SINGLE. WEEK.” I so I kinda feel like a traitor but I don’t care. There’s a starving fandom girl over here. And she’s jumping in to join the feast.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spectralbovine.livejournal.com
How spoilery is this? I haven't done the first season yet, but I like reading your squee.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Umm, well, technically, I don't get specifically spoilery at all about the first season. Since you've already seen the eps this season, right? Everything I talk about in here you should already know about.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] roniabirk.livejournal.com
Heee. I need to read your posts from the premiere.

Oh,

Dean could suddenly move things with his mind? It made me alittle sad. I would of never expected to have that reaction before watching...

You meant Sam, right?

Date: 2006-10-19 09:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
You meant Sam, right?

Oh, you have no idea how many times I've gone that over the past week. It's the Gilmore thing. So very confusing. Jensen's character is Dean to me, plan and simple. But Padalecki's character? He's kinda Sam and Dean to me. The other Dean of course but. It's all so confusing. He was Dean to me for so many years, sometimes he just gets called Dean too.

Date: 2006-10-20 12:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spadada.livejournal.com
That is funny because the recapper at TWoP called Sam "Sam!Dean" for most of S1.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spectralbovine.livejournal.com
No, she meant Dean. From Gilmore Girls!

Heh.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
In my brain, there are TWO Deans on this show.

I still kind of hate them for having to make it so damn confusing...

Date: 2006-10-19 09:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maxymama.livejournal.com
Except, you know THAT STUPID BLOODY SECRET DEVICE THEY INSULTLY CLUNKED DOWN IN FRONT OF US.)

What are you talking about?

Can I copy this for my blog?

Date: 2006-10-19 09:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spectralbovine.livejournal.com
WHAT DID JOHN TELL DEAN, DUDE?

WHAT THE CRAP DID HE TELL HIM?

Date: 2006-10-19 09:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maxymama.livejournal.com
Oh ok, hee. I thought it was secret DEVICE, not SECRET device. Ha.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
What are you talking about?

At the end of the premiere, when John whispered something to Dean and they totally cut off the sound so we couldn't hear it? Honestly one of the first things they've done with the show that just annoyed the shit out of me.

Can I copy this for my blog?

You want to use my crazy ramblings? Hey, sure, go right ahead.

Date: 2006-10-20 12:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com
Really, that annoyed you? But it is bringing the hardcore angst! You know Dean's going to crack right around Sweeps and tell Sammy. *g*

Date: 2006-10-19 09:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spectralbovine.livejournal.com
So.

You kinda like it, huh?

Perhaps I will borrow DVDs at some point. I've got all sorts of other TV to catch up on. Like Avatar. And The Office.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Haha. Yea, I kinda like it.

Date: 2006-10-19 09:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spadada.livejournal.com
This is a long ass post, so I am printing it to read on the train. Wait till you read Gia's recap of last week's episode of Supernatural (written by [livejournal.com profile] dark_roast for [livejournal.com profile] neptune_online). She has one final edit to make--turns out the delicious blood recipe on Angel was pig + otter not "woodchuck with a dash of owl"--but other than that, it is finished and it is hilarious.

The anonymous comments at the end are from Logan, Neptune Online's new editor and the person allowing Gia to continue on as the (her words) "Supernatural correspondent in the field." Hee.

Date: 2006-10-20 12:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spadada.livejournal.com
Oh. And I love you. Great post.

(You saw the Paley Festival panel by now I imagine? If not, tell me. I will upload it for you. You will love it.)

Date: 2006-10-20 12:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Yes, I must make a point to check out Gia's recaps now that I can actually, you know, understand them.

But what's this about a panel? I haven't seen a thing!

Date: 2006-10-20 03:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spadada.livejournal.com
Oh wow, just wait. I have seen it five times! It is what promped my whole post about VM directors.

Also, the director/executive producer (Kim Manners) who is on the panel with Kripke, his partner, the boys, and one of the writers/executive producers, directed tonight's FUCKING AWESOME I LOVED IT SO MUCH episode.

The upload will take awhile. In the meantime, you can watch it in four parts on You Tube.

Date: 2006-10-19 10:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hellopoe.livejournal.com
HOLY SHIT, THERE IS AN OVERREACHING ARC IN THIS SHOW?!?! And not just any arc but a FABULOUS, ROOTED IN THE PAIN OF THE PAST ARC.
I remember having that exact same reaction. Watching, liking the show, but not really OBSESSING until I realized--HEY, THERE IT IS! I SEE THE ARC! FINALLY!

And hey, look, you don’t have problems with character shirking or having too little of time to address things because you have only two characters. Everything is taken step by step. Issues that SHOULD be dealt with? ARE dealt with. It’s so refreshing.
HALLELUJAH.

Here, there’s no showrunner mind games. If characters should talk, they do. End of story.
Kripke is my hero, for real!

Also agreed on the equal character love! There is no competition there, no request for more screentime from one or the other. Both of them = awesome.

In fact, I had jokingly said while watching the pilot that Dean was S1 Veronica and Sam was S2 Veronica. I had no idea how true it would actually turn out to be, Sam with his plead for a normal life and knowing their family can never be like before while Dean rejects normal but desperately wants to preserve their family.
Wow, nice call! That's perfect.

In all honestly, after all this time, VM has just sort of worn me out. I’d just gotten so tired of begging and pleading for the littest of scraps. And then here comes Kripke who says, “Hey, I’ll give you everything you want. EVERY. SINGLE. WEEK.” I so I kinda feel like a traitor but I don’t care. There’s a starving fandom girl over here. And she’s jumping in to join the feast.
Exactly. Yes, Yes, YES. Basically, YES TO THIS ENTIRE POST.

*uses favorite shift-focus-thingy icon* :)

Date: 2006-10-19 10:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crackers4jenn.livejournal.com
This post makes me so ridiculously happy! OMG SO MUCH LOVE!

--I watched the premiere episode too, kinda half-heartedly, and it didn't really stick with me. Then I was getting bored with VM and wanted to try something new, so a few episodes in I started downloading it again and OMG HOOKED INSTANTLY. I don't know why I didn't like the premiere the first time I watched it, because it's one of my favorite episodes now. Guess I just expected it to be a show about one thing (Demon fighters! Ghostbusters! Woo!) and it ended up being about something else entirely (BROTHERLY ANGST HOLY CRAP!)

--I love papa!Winchester. I never really got why he was so widely hated. He wasn't the best of fathers, sure, but I think the death of his wife really screwed up his priorities. And everything he did, he BELIEVED in it. He wasn't on all them demon missions for the hell of it--he thought he was doing something good, something right, for his family. Maybe he was wrong about that, maybe Dean and Sam needed a father, not a drill sergeant, but that just makes the character and the Winchesters' relationship waaaaay more interesting to me.

--YAY METALLICAR! I don't know why it's called the Metallicar, just that it is. I always assumed it had something to do with Metallica... but then again I'm pretty ignorant about pop culture references. Anyway. It was a sad, sad thing when it got trashed, but oh-so-awesome when it was revived from the murky depths of junkyard death. And the fact that the show KNOWS that they have a whole target audience for the Metallicar itself makes it all the better. ;)

--The desaturation is GORGEOUS. Seriously, I'm in love with the colors. All the greys and greens and blues and browns. Yum. Very flattering all around.

--Eeeee, I love the boys in their jackets!

So. Ahem. All in all, I really enjoyed this post. :)

Date: 2006-10-23 08:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Haha, your enthusiasm cracks me up. Only in a good way, of course. ;)

I never really got why he was so widely hated. He wasn't the best of fathers, sure, but I think the death of his wife really screwed up his priorities. And everything he did, he BELIEVED in it. He wasn't on all them demon missions for the hell of it--he thought he was doing something good, something right, for his family. Maybe he was wrong about that, maybe Dean and Sam needed a father, not a drill sergeant, but that just makes the character and the Winchesters' relationship waaaaay more interesting to me.

Yea, right? They could have had him end up this all-mighty and perfect father, but in what world would that have been any interesting? It makes him much more of an understanding and heartbreaking character that he ended up so fallible in just wanting to protect his kids while still trying to avenge his wife's death. And he wanted to have all the answers and never really having them but thinking that he had to at least act like he did for the boys and, and HOW CAN PEOPLE HATE HIM?!

In conclusion, JACKET LOVE!!



Date: 2006-10-19 10:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_kirsty/
This was such a pleasure to read. Just a couple of things I particularly relate to:

VM has just sort of worn me out. I’d just gotten so tired of begging and pleading for the littest of scraps.
That is *exactly* how I feel about it. I think I've been using the word 'crumbs' instead of 'scraps' but otherwise it's like you're reading my mind. :)

this show doesn’t exactly have the most accomplished of writing. Most of the scenes are made awesome by the production of them, not necessarily the writing underneath them. And they do a lot of ‘tell’ instead of ‘show’
Yeah, that's the downside, I think. VM has all the sharp, witty lines but it's too cool for feelings. SPN has, well, a lot of lameness, but every week it feeds my investment in and attachment to the characters and their relationship.

One isn’t painted as a golden boy while the other is painted as the screw up. Dean is rebellious to society but golden to his family, hotheaded but mostly still with a rational mind. Sam is rebellious toward his family but society’s own golden boy, being booksmart but of the less rational mind than you would expect. Dean appears as the extroverted brother but in actuality keeps his feelings close to himself while Sam appears as the introverted one who always is bursting at the seams to let out his thoughts or feelings.
That's a lovely take on the Winchester boys.

Date: 2006-10-23 09:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Haha. In other versions in my head, it was crumbs. ;)

Yeah, that's the downside, I think. VM has all the sharp, witty lines but it's too cool for feelings. SPN has, well, a lot of lameness, but every week it feeds my investment in and attachment to the characters and their relationship.

Well, at the same time, it's hard to compare the writing because VM scripts attempt at a stylized-type dialogue, whereas with SPN, the writers really seem to be going for a more realistic dialogue. It's not necessarily bad like Heroes is, it's just not all flaired and prosed like what we're used to with VM and Joss's stuff before it. And hey, I do have to give them credit for spotting the lameness when it's there and using it for some self-mockery. The sentimentally squishy lines are almost always from Sam (which does admittedly fit his squishy character self) but it's almost always delivered with a volley back from Dean.

Still, I understand what you're saying. It's basically a given that without the performances and production to elevate the script, the show wouldn't be half the show it is.

Date: 2006-10-19 10:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] missdeviant.livejournal.com
WELCOME TO THE WORLD OF BEST! PLEASE ENJOY YOUR STAY.

AND THE BOYS. ENJOY THEM TOO.

Date: 2006-10-23 08:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
I PLAN TO. THANK YOU.

Date: 2006-10-19 11:33 pm (UTC)
ext_11318: (spn - boys - don't leave me)
From: [identity profile] lostt1.livejournal.com
So I'm here by way of [livejournal.com profile] jascott. She knew I'd love this post and well, she was right. And she would know. She has to hear me go on and on about this show all the time. :)

There is simply way too much for me to agree with here. I pretty much agree with everything you've said. I love this show so incredibly much, it's taken me by surprise. Jared and Jensen are incredible. They portray these brothers so well, you can't help but become emotionally attached to them. I love that there is character development all the time, that things actually get explained, that there is a great balance of funny and drama, etc.

And...

RACK FOCUS!!! Seriously, I mention just how much I love that trick to [livejournal.com profile] jascott all the time. This show does it so well! The show is beautiful and the lighting is awesome. The music is fantastic. And the car...ohmygod love. :)

So hi! Welcome to the SPN love!

Date: 2006-10-22 09:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Ha. I'm just getting back to this post now but...

RACK FOCUS?! That what that's called? I was trying to look all over the place for the name because I knew there was one and yay! Now I have learned.

So, yea, I hope you don't mind I went and friended you since I've just been looking for more SPN people to share the squeeage with and YOU KNEW WHAT THE FOCUS WAS CALLED! This automatically makes you awesome. ;)

So, HI!

Date: 2006-10-20 12:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com
Holy crap this was a long post. And I enjoyed every word! *g*

They tease and bicker and nag and prank and fight and yell but when the chips are down, they’re right there for one another. And somehow this show is able to strike this lovely balance so that it’s not too sentimental and fluffy but not too dark or disconnected, just...right.

ITA. And I think part of it is that Jared and Jensen are just such good friends in real life. In the commentary on the pilot, Kripke was saying that both Jensen and Jared had been the third banana on other shows, and they knew this was their big chance to be leads, and they're "wonderfully supportive of each other." Awww.

I don't have time to respond to everything else, but I was nodding all through your post. And the "Carry On Wayward Son" recap? I don't think it's an exaggeration to say I have seen it 100 times. At least. The fanvids RULE.

Date: 2006-10-23 12:57 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Ha. So I'm just getting back to this post now (long crazy weekend) but...

In the commentary on the pilot, Kripke was saying that both Jensen and Jared had been the third banana on other shows, and they knew this was their big chance to be leads, and they're "wonderfully supportive of each other."

Awww. That is just too cute! So...on a scale of one to ten how much do I need the DVDs?

Holy crap this was a long post.

Oh, you have no idea. Around ep 4, I had this little thought to open a Word doc and it led to an insane monstrousity that got cut DOWN to this post. Me with no internet? Leads to scary results. But I'm glad to see, I'm not alone in my crazy love of this show! ;)

Date: 2006-10-23 11:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bigboobedcanuck.livejournal.com
How much do you need the DVDs? That would be an 11. The blooper reel alone is worth it, but I also find the episodes infinitely rewatchable.

No, you're definitely not alone in the crazy love! :D

Date: 2006-10-20 07:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] subtle--sarcasm.livejournal.com
ok, seriously, there is no way that I can answer to everything in this post because hello??? your fanlove-posts are just to amazing and complex and touch upon every single reason this show is amazing!!!!! (also I'm at work.)

So I will just touch upon the things that I utterly agree with that few/no other people have mentioned before:

- I MISS THE RESEARCH!!!! MUSTY OLD BOOK HOORAY!! seriously, the entire comparisons to Buffy/Angel are so true, and I felt the exact same way about the creature feature. I thought it was refreshing when I could invest all my love in a show that didn't have it (VM, obviously) after having Buffy/Angel reigning supreme as my favourite shows of all time for so long. After I had gotten over the refreshing change of the amount of love I could put in a "real world" show, I CRAVED a decent creature feature! To tell you the truth, it was one of the main things that attracted me to SPN (you know, before I knew how awesome it actually was). and the MUSTY OLD BOOKS and actual supernatural research is just such a big part of that.

- Mal~Dean is so very true. And the Impala(I think Metallicar was born because at some point Dean says that listening to metallica calms him when he is listening to is while driving and sam says something about it. I am a bad fangirl in this show in the sense that I don't read much fanwank about it... because, well, as you said, you just GET IT without countless hours of analyzing every thing scrap the the show gives the starving fangirls)/Serenity likeness is very very true and it KILLED me when the Impala got smashed!!!! And you have no idea how much I squeed during the 'Back in Black' scene. To see the show openly acknowledge the importance and love for this car was beautiful and heart-warming.

- The creature feature itself is SO WELL DONE I am amazed again and again. It's not just some creepy thing and they slay and move one, the things are actually creepy as hell and, as you said, they are fallible when it comes to fighting them! And they are in actual danger that keeps you on the edge of your seat even though you should obviously know nothing will happen to them. But that's another thing about this show, somehow it makes you believe that they really could die! and I think this is mostly due to the amount of love between the brothers, not to mention the simple fact that they rely on each other so much and they are literally all they have! You actually fear for the brother in danger (why does this sound gangster to me? ) because you can actually feel the other one's fear of losing him!

- I think a show that just has two central characters is refreshing exactly for the reasons you mentioned. Also, I loved what their father did for the character development of them and, as you said, I loved him because they loved him, but I absolutely agree that his death was necessary for the show to go on. I had no idea he would die in the ep but it made perfect sense to me, first and foremost because it wouldn't have worked any other way. There was no way they could have just gone separate ways in season two but for them to go on hunting as a threesome just would have ruined the dynamics of the show in the long run. Plus, as you said, it made sense for him as a character.

- Jensen is scary in his ability to be breathtakingly gorgeous and an incredible actor all in one. It just doesn't happen. You love and lust for actors because they look good and act so well, but you hardly have people that are just disturbingly pretty all in themselves and are great actors.

- to everything else you said: yes, absolutely. I wanna react to every single thing you said because so spoke my mind so much but it would basically end up being "this is true because list of reasons you gave for it. this is also true because list of reasons you gave for that. You get the idea ;) But seriously, amazing post, utterly true, I will definitely link it in my next post :)

Date: 2006-10-23 04:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Like I said above, I'm just getting back to this post now due to a crazy weekend, so....

ok, seriously, there is no way that I can answer to everything in this post because hello??? your fanlove-posts are just to amazing and complex and touch upon every single reason this show is amazing!!!!!

HAHA. Well, I was stuck driving for four hours home with nothing to do but think about SPN, so this was abit of a result of exhausting my brain of the ways I loved this show to pacify my impatient self during the drive. Hehe.

YAY! I'm not the only one whose all excited about the musty books!

somehow it makes you believe that they really could die! and I think this is mostly due to the amount of love between the brothers, not to mention the simple fact that they rely on each other so much and they are literally all they have! You actually fear for the brother in danger because you can actually feel the other one's fear of losing him!

See, now I know I didn't remember everything on that drive. Because YES!! This was totally something I wanted to put in here and forgot but YES!! THAT'S IT! That was a HUGE part for me. "You FEAR for the brother in danger because you FEEL the other's fear of losing him." EXACTLY. EXACTLY. EXACTLY. Thank you for bringing me back to that thought. Because I LOVE IT. I must ETA it in the post, and give you the credit.

Date: 2006-10-23 08:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] subtle--sarcasm.livejournal.com
*feels honored* :)
hehe. I know how you feel I always think of things to post on the way home and then I end up forgetting half of it when I'm actually posting. ;)

But, yeah, it's so true ;)

Date: 2006-10-20 08:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sir-fireboard.livejournal.com
Here, there’s no showrunner mind games. If characters should talk, they do. End of story.

Yeah, that's one thing that gets me with VM, Rob's insane obsession with avoiding characters telling rather than showing every once in a while is starting to piss me off. I mean, god, I don't want a show where they verbalise every thought that crosses their minds, but they're allowed to actually say SOME things, ffs. Like in WL, it was good that V actuall SAID to Logan how she felt and why. I need that a little more than having to, like you said, fanwank everything to make it work. Give me a break, Rob.

I do like SN, but I'm not totally in love with it like you seem to be. I haven't seen the latest ep yet, but I have to say that I was so thrilled with last week's episode because it brought ambiguity into the show in a big way. Everything was too simple with, as Dean said, it was evil so they killed the hell out of it. Too black and white for me and it was keeping me from being able to love it anymore than I had been, but maybe now that they're going to explore the possible non-evil supernatural things, the SN universe will really be able to blossom. Because good vs evil and nothing more is a tad too boring for me.

But in the end, the point is I LOVE BOTH THE BROTHERS. This isn’t a ‘God, Dawson’s so annoying, go drown him in the creek and give the show to Pacey already.’ Nor is it a ‘Give Logan more screentime and drive Duncan away because he’s boring me to death.’ This is EQUAL CHARACTER LOVE.

I can't identify with the sibling relationship being that I'm an only child, but I do love both the brothers as well. Although I favour Sam a tiny bit more than Dean. But only a smidge. The heart on his sleeve, tortured woobie thing really gets me.

Date: 2006-10-23 04:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Aww, no 'KILLS ME DEAD' SPN love from you? That's a tiny bit sad. I do think perhaps my own insane love for it was from watching it so quickly through. It feels like the kind of series that I would have found less interesting if I had had to go week through week of watching in the beginning of the first season. Even more so, I'm probably just clinging to the damn thing, because my last show has left me high and dry with nothing but I DON'T CARE. XD

Rob's insane obsession with avoiding characters telling rather than showing every once in a while is starting to piss me off.

Only starting? Hehe. It started for me way back last year. And it's only seemed to get worse from there. It's definitely become his own insane obsession. I mean, typical shows capitalize on any emotional expo possible they can suck out of characters and it’s always ridiculous and eye roll worthy. But even though it's refreshing to see Rob reel in that crazy TV pain magnet, it’s also frustrating because he hardly ever let’s the pain that really should be there show through? What I fuckin’ LOVE about this show is how they play with just the right about of pain for the story it accompanies. Which admittedly is A LOT, but it never goes too overboard, and it’s never swept under the rug and ignored.

I haven't seen the latest ep yet, but I have to say that I was so thrilled with last week's episode because it brought ambiguity into the show in a big way. Everything was too simple with, as Dean said, it was evil so they killed the hell out of it. Too black and white for me and it was keeping me from being able to love it anymore than I had been, but maybe now that they're going to explore the possible non-evil supernatural things, the SN universe will really be able to blossom. Because good vs evil and nothing more is a tad too boring for me.

Hmm. I actually wasn't too fond with what they did with that episode, since I felt like they were trying to say HEY LOOK, GRAY! when really all they had done is flipped the boxes around entirely. The black and white lines in the evil fighting haven't bothered me so much because they seem to find their grays to explore elsewhere. And honestly, it took Joss years to finally play that gray evil line in Buffy, so for me, they're allowed to still be where they are. I feel like the show only has a potential to get better from here.

Date: 2006-10-20 12:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skylee.livejournal.com
And somehow this show is able to strike this lovely balance so that it’s not too sentimental and fluffy but not too dark or disconnected, just...right.

That's EXACTLY why I love the show, and what I liked about L/V in S1, and what I liked about BtVS and AtS. It's all in their actions not their words. But its' still so very there. I am rather fond of the secret thing though (and since I wasn't spoiled about John, that last speech he gave to Dean KILLED ME and I'm still recovering), so I'm curious to see why you don't like it. :)

And Kripke is all about the wish fulfillment. I kind of developed a little crush on him after watching the DVD features, aww, he's so adorkable. :D
And it's

Date: 2006-10-23 09:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Hey, I had no idea you were watching! This is fun, discovering all the people who have been watching the show on my flist all along. YAY!

That's EXACTLY why I love the show, and what I liked about L/V in S1, and what I liked about BtVS and AtS. It's all in their actions not their words. But its' still so very there.

That's really it in the end, isn't it? I love the balance and I really had been missing it from my tv in the last year. Thank you, new show!

I am rather fond of the secret thing though (and since I wasn't spoiled about John, that last speech he gave to Dean KILLED ME and I'm still recovering), so I'm curious to see why you don't like it. :)

Oh, the speech killed me too! But then they camera is RIGHT THERE and John leans in and they just CUT OFF the sound, and it was just so obviously something they were going to take and dangle over our heads for the next half the season that I immediately found it really insulting. It was just such a device! You know? "Oh, cut off the sound and the viewers won't hear and then we can keep them guessing for a whole year." Even though YOU manipulated the sound. The camera was there and YOU manipulated it. It was like the 'nah, nah, nah, nah, nah' approach. If the camera wouldn't have been RIGHT there, maybe a panned away or something, maybe it wouldn't have felt so blatantly deceptive to me.

Okay, and that ended up a much longer-winded bitter answer than I planned on. It is bringing about some pretty pretty angst so I shouldn't complain. I just wish it had been done differently.

And Kripke is all about the wish fulfillment. I kind of developed a little crush on him after watching the DVD features, aww, he's so adorkable. :

Hehe. I know. I saw the Paley Festival video the other night and got to see him speak and adorkable is totally the word for him. And I had thought his narractive style was alot like mixing Rob's with Joss's. But the guy actually scarily resembles the result of squishing a Rob and a Joss together! It's just alittle bit creepy.

Date: 2006-10-23 05:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cosmicviolet.livejournal.com
Awesome post! This is one for the memories, I think. :) Seriously, you expressed your love for the show more eloquently than I could.

The characters of Sam and Dean are pretty much exactly what I had always thought Veronica and Logan had the potential to become.
That's interesting. I hadn't thought of it that way.

And sure, some might say it ends up leaving the show too simple with only two characters but I don’t know.
I don't think so. If there has to be only two, I'd rather they be two really well drawn characters that we completely understand, than a whole cast full people who are only semi-fleshed out and whose motivations we aren't sure of.

I LOVE THEM BOTH. EQUALLY.
Me too! It seems like Dean gets a bit more love, which makes me feel bad for Sam. Okay, maybe I like Dean a little more, but I really love both of them and I'm just as invested in whatever happens to either of them. How can you like one and not the other, really? They complete each other.

HE TOTALLY DEFIES THE UNIVERSE.
Hee. I love Jensen. He doesn't even have to say anything - he can tell you stuff just from a little gesture or a look. He is Just So. Good. (The fact that he is so hot is just a nice side benefit.)

I see the similarities between Veronica and Dean too, but I also see some of Logan in there too. Both Dean and Logan had messed up childhoods with parents who are now dead or gone. They dealt with this by being snarky and putting on a façade, but inside they're woobies. The main difference, I guess, is that Logan is more heart-on-his-sleeve, whereas Dean tends to keep stuff bottled up. But they can both be pretty self-destructive in how they deal with their grief.

everyone calls the car by name of Metallicar? WHY?
Someone on Television Without Pity came up with the name, because the guys listen to Metallica (or they would, if Metallica weren't bastards about licensing their stuff) and other classic rock, so Metallica + car = Metallicar. I think it's clever. :)

Date: 2006-12-19 12:48 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] orangesky33.livejournal.com
Hi! I'm a drifter in your journal, but [livejournal.com profile] spectralbovine linked you in his SN S1 review, so I thought I'd give your post a looksey, and holy long and satisfying review there, Batman!

ITA about the brother section, especially the paradoxical nature of the boys and the satisfication that comes with their being the center of the show. Their relationship just makes the world go round and is the best part, obviously. Except for THE IMPALA OF COURSE! SO MUCH LOVE FOR GIVING IT A SECTION.

I've had issues with John (mostly because I don't feel he's ever been SHOWN to be Mr. Hunter Extraordinare, and well sometimes he can be a prick, as in the car scene in "Devil's Trap" when he didn't care Dean was ALMOST DYING OMG), however, your paragraph made me really want to revaluate him (especially with the Lilly contrast *tears up*) because I do like him at times ("Home" and "MToD", and WANT to like him A Lot. I really need a marathon to do so. Oh, I LOVE "The Shadow" meeting so much. *cries*

"But I’ve talked in the past about the similarities between Mal and Veronica, and so of course, I see a lot of similarities between Veronica and Dean."

It really is amazing how very alike V and Dean are, isn't it? Also, I guess I'm a sucker for looking for parent arcs, because their dedication just makes me well up.

HA to the in Season One Dean is S1 V and Sammy is S2 V assessment. So True!

As for Dean's wardorbe choices. YES, YES, YES. I even Love Dean's shoes for God's sakes (I even had a "dude, I am going to miss those shoes" moment in last years finale). I think I need help.

Well, anyway, ITA! Also, you rock for writing all that. WOO-HO!

Date: 2006-12-19 07:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Hey there! Nice to hear you enjoyed all my crazy rambling here.

And OMG. JENSEN'S BOOTS. They are fantastic, aren't they? They are totally worthy of being loved. Jensen sounds like he has a total love affair with those boots. But hey, great boots like that are hard to find. So I say admiration of great boots? Is completely sane. ;)

As for John, you know I just got done reading this lovely post of an essay [livejournal.com profile] cofax7 did on him awhile back. It basically was a response to people who had problems with him, and offering a more understanding side by taking into account all that has been given to us so far about him. It's HERE if you're interested in reading. (And I'd highly recommend reading the comments too, since I found them equally insightful.)


Date: 2006-12-19 08:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] orangesky33.livejournal.com
"Jensen sounds like he has a total love affair with those boots."

Ahhh! That totally rules; I had no idea about said off-screen love affair.
Also, Woot hoot sanity!

I am very intrigued. I will totally read that. Right now even. Heh.

Thank you. :)

Date: 2006-12-20 07:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Oh, the way I heard it, those are HIS boots. Like he refuses to wear any boots on set OTHER THEN his own. That's how much he loves those boots. It's utterly adorable.

And now I feel like I should have an icon with said boots, but alas I do not. Far away pretty shots will have to do. :)

Date: 2006-12-20 08:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] orangesky33.livejournal.com
THAT IS THE CUTEST STORY EVER! OMG!

And just when I thought I couldn't love Jensen anymore...*sigh*

There should be wall to wall Boots icons, SERIOUSLY!*swints really hard at your icon* Oh, the boots.

p.s.-Thanks for the rec. That essay was very through and did allow me to see John in a different light and with a little more compassion, so yay!

Date: 2009-11-17 10:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] squaringkarma.livejournal.com
YES YES YES. I'd probably ending up quoting your whole post and go into multiple comments if I commented on everything, but just yes. Everything here is amazing, especially the stuff about the DP, editor, etc. ALL THOSE PEOPLE THAT (USUALLY) DON'T GET ENOUGH CREDIT.

Oh, and I don't *think* I knew about John's sacrifice, so GOOD ME.

Date: 2009-11-18 05:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zimshan.livejournal.com
Oh, and I don't *think* I knew about John's sacrifice, so GOOD ME.
Wow, that IS impressive. I can imagine the premiere would have been much more of a punch had that have been a surprise.

BUT I AM SO EXCITED TO HEAR YOU ARE LOVING THE SHOW!! It's been so long since I've actually looked back at this post, but it's funny that a great majority of it does still apply for the show, even now in S5. The show hasn't been without its fair share of bumps in the road the last couple years, and there are some things I reread here now and go 'YEA, KRIPKE, WHAT HAPPENED TO THAT??' but overall, it's kinda been a remarkably consistent show. Can't wait to see what you think of S2!! XD

And YAY for all the people that usually don't get enough credit! Their work shows their own love for the show, I think. Remind me to hook you up with [livejournal.com profile] bellanut's wardrobe and set designing posts, and the cinematography comm once you get through S2! Despite the buckets full of crazy, one of the really neat things about big fandoms is that there is room for even the little production things to get dissected, talked about, and analyzed. OH AND YO, you've finished S1! S1 SPN SCORE POST! I really need to revamp the S1 post at some point, and finally get S2 done, it's the only season I've yet to do yet. That's what winter hiatuses are for. :)

Date: 2009-11-18 09:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] squaringkarma.livejournal.com
Had I thought things out, I might have realised something like that would have happened eventually because I sort of had this feeling that John wasn't around all that much in later seasons, but total surprise when revealed.

And I can't wait to get through it! Think I have to go a few nights of watching two a night in order to be where I want to be when [livejournal.com profile] chantarelle gets here. Or going on binges during the weekends.

Thank you for linking your season one score post!

Profile

zimshan: (Default)
zimshan

May 2015

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
1011 1213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:37 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios